Ad code will work only on domains added to your Dashboard account This is the code for your widget. Just copy and paste it into your website. New widgets may take up to 30 minutes before they start displaying properly.

PM Modi releases new series of visually impaired friendly coins; 12-edged Rs 20 coin launched

The Prime Minister Narendra Modi on March 7, 2019 released the new series of visually impaired friendly circulation coins of Rs 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20.

The coins were released at a function in New Delhi where visually impaired children were specially invited.


The new circulation coins with various differentiating features, will greatly aid the visually impaired. The coins will facilitate the visually impaired Divyang community, and will instill them with confidence.

Agencies behind the design & development of coins


National Institute of Design


Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited


Union Ministry of Finance

Features of the coins released

Various new features have been incorporated in the new series of circulation coins to make it more easy for the visually impaired to use them.

The coins are characterized by the increasing size and weight from lower to higher denominations.

Except for the 12-edged polygon (dodecagon) shaped Rs 20 coin, the rest of the denomination coins are of round shape.

Features of Rs 20 coin

  • The newly included coin of Rs 20 is a 12 sided coin with no serrations. It is of a 12-edged polygon shape (dodecagon).
  • The outside diameter of Rs 20 coin is 27mm and weighs 8.54 grams.
  • The composition of the new coin is 65 percent copper, 15 percent zinc and 20 percent nickel for the outer ring, and 75 percent copper, 20 percent zinc and 5 percent nickel for the inner ring.

Obverse side of Rs 20 coin

  • The face bears the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar with ‘Satyamev Jayate’ inscribed below.
  • The left periphery is inscribed with the word “Bharat” in Hindi and the right periphery has the word “INDIA” in English.

Reverse side of Rs 20 coin

  • It bears denominational value ‘20’ with the rupee symbol shown above.
  • The left side contains the design of grains, depicting the agricultural dominance of the country.
  • The top right and bottom right bear the word Rs 20 in Hindi and ‘TWENTY RUPEES’ in English, respectively.
  • The year of minting in international numerals is shown on centre of left periphery of the coin.

Source link



Leave a Reply